Skip to main content
x

Vasto

Beautiful town in the province of Chieti, Vasto enchants with a charm of yesteryear. Overlooking the gulf of Trabocchi, it has ancient origins and collects the remains of three thousand years of civilization, testified by ancient towers, fortifications, churches and palaces. There are still visible traces of the Roman amphitheatre, the remains of the cisterns of Saint Chiara, the ancient thermal baths dating back to the II-III century AD, where precious mosaic floors representing the god Neptune and other marine scenes have been found. Among the most significant structures of the medieval period is the Caldoresco Castle, enriched over the years by two cylindrical towers and three corner bastions. The Palazzo d'Avalos with its beautiful gardens, is one of the most significant examples of Renaissance architecture in Abruzzo. It houses the Civic Museum, the Archaeological Museum, the Picture Gallery and the Museum of Old Costume. The Arch of Porta Santa Maria and the Teatro Rossetti, one of the first in Abruzzo, are interesting. Among the places of worship are the Cathedral of St. Joseph, which preserves the original 14th century façade with portal and rose window, the Church of St. Peter's of which only the façade overlooking the square with the same name, the Church of Santa Maria Maggiore and the Church of San Michele Arcangelo, patron saint of the city. A walk along the Loggia Amblingh is an experience not to be missed. From here the view of the gulf is a real spectacle. The Marina di Vasto is characterized by its wide sandy beach and shallow seabed. Towards north, the coast is indented by picturesque cliffs with enchanting bays and coves made even more suggestive by the trabocchi. The Punta Aderci Nature Reserve with its homonymous rocky promontory is the most spectacular corner of the whole Abruzzo coast.

Learn more about it: http://www.comune.vasto.ch.it

Provincia: Chieti

CAP: 66054

Prefisso: 0873

Altitudine: 143

POSIZIONE GEOGRAFICA

42.112215883504, 14.707473367453

Founded in 1849 as an municipal archaeological museum of Vasto, it is the oldest museum in Abruzzo. Since 1998, is housed on the ground floor of Palazzo D'Avalos and presents a refined and modern exhibition.

The historic Palazzo d'Avalos houses, in addition to the Museum, also the Municipal Picture Gallery. On the second floor, the large rooms of the Marchesale apartment house the works of Filippo, Nicola, Francesco Paolo and Giuseppe Palizzi.

The church, originally dedicated to San Martino, was built in 1738; subsequently, following a miraculous event that ended a catastrophic drought, it was consecrated to the Crowned Madonna. In 1860 it was enlarged and the Capuchin monastery was annexed.